Illinois Raises Age of Juvenile Court Jurisdiction
July 22, 2013
On July 8, 2013, Illinois' Governor Pat Quinn signed legislation into law that raises the age of the state's juvenile court jurisdiction to include 17 year olds charged with felonies. This legislation will allow youth to be tried as juveniles and access more rehabilitative services in the juvenile justice system rather than receiving adult criminal convictions and records. The law does not change state laws that allow youth who commit certain serious crimes, such as first degree murder, to be automatically waived to adult criminal court. Illinois joins 38 states that currently prosecute 17 year olds charged with felonies in juvenile court.
Access information and download "Raising the Age of Juvenile Court Jurisdiction," the 2-year study recommending that Illinois expand the jurisdiction of its juvenile courts to include 17 year olds charged with felonies.
View the Illinois law raising the age for the state's juvenile court jurisdiction on felony cases.