July | August 2013

News From the Coordinating Council on Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention

Coordinating Council on Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention logo.On July 26, 2013, members of the National Research Council's (NRC's) Committee on Assessing Juvenile Justice Reform presented the results of an OJJDP-commissioned study at a meeting of the Coordinating Council on Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention. OJJDP tasked NRC with reviewing recent advances in behavioral and neuroscience research and its implications for juvenile reform.

Dr. Robert L. Johnson, Committee Chair and Director of the Division of Adolescent and Young Adult Medicine at Rutgers University—New Jersey Medical School; Dr. Edward Mulvey, Director of the Law and Psychiatry Program at the Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic of the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine; and Gladys Carrion, Commissioner of the New York State Office of Children and Family Services, provided an overview of the committee's findings and recommendations contained in the report, Reforming Juvenile Justice: A Developmental Approach. For more information on the recommendations, read the article, "National Research Council Report on Juvenile Justice Reform Highlighted at Coordinating Council Meeting" in this issue.

Meetings of the council are open to the public. Visit the Web site to register for the next meeting, learn more about the council, and read minutes from past meetings.

The Coordinating Council on Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention is an independent body within the executive branch of the federal government operated under the Federal Advisory Committee Act. The council's primary functions are to coordinate federal juvenile delinquency prevention programs, federal programs and activities that detain or care for unaccompanied juveniles, and federal programs relating to missing and exploited children. The council is made up of 22 members—13 ex officio and affiliate members and 9 practitioners. The ex officio members are: the Attorney General; the Administrator of the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention; the Secretaries of the U.S. Departments of Education, Health and Human Services (HHS), Housing and Urban Development, and Labor; the Assistant Secretary of Immigration and Customs Enforcement in the U.S. Department of Homeland Security; the Director of the Office of National Drug Control Policy; and the Chief Executive Officer of the Corporation for National and Community Service. Affiliate members are the Secretaries of the U.S. Departments of Agriculture, Defense, and the Interior, and the Administrator of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration of HHS. The nine juvenile justice practitioner members are appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the Senate Majority Leader, and the President of the United States.